Would you buy an IKEA bicycle?

nike-ikea-news_dezeen_936_1

I’m a big fan of IKEA. I love their philosophy. I love their communication. I love their products. However, I’ve only just discovered that IKEA also sell bicycles. So..would I ever consider buying one? I know I’ve got lots already, but as stipulated in ‘the rules‘ you always need one more. (n+1)

I’ve not actually seen one, but here’s the video that explains what it’s about.

As ever with IKEA, the design is well thought-free, with a ‘system’ that integrates all the accessories. I like the idea of the rust free belt drive, but am not convinced by the automatic gear changing – not sure how this would work. If you were a regular cyclist in a flattish city that I imagine it would be work fine.

However, I think it fails on 2 fronts. If IKEA were really serious about solving urban transport problems and getting the world to cycle more, then it would make it much more affordable. £349 is decent value, but very much on a par with other bikes in the category. Secondly, would you really want to be seen cycling an IKEA bike? Generally cyclists are pretty brand conscious and I suspect they would feel a bit a bit weird. I’m ok with an IKEA duvet – but a bike? Not convinced.

I reckon these would be perfect bikes for city bike hire schemes.A real step up from the current London bikes which are a bit cumbersome. However, am not convinced the IKEA bike will change the world.

Leave a Reply

